Makeup Beauty Series: Beginner’s Guide To Foundation

Happy Monday NKB family,

Choosing the right foundation

Most women don’t know what kind of foundations work well for their skin and I remember all too well how overwhelming it can be to stand under the bright Clicks, Edgars or Dischem lights trying to figure out which foundation to choose (I wanted all of them 🙈)

I started using foundation and make up when I started varsity and because my mum isn’t really a make up person I was left to my own devices. Half the time I would go into a store to buy foundation I would be too embarrassed to ask for help because I had too many questions. I wanted to know what works for my oily skin, what works for my skin tone, what would give me that sun kissed, flawless look women were so good at achieving (these aren’t even scratching the surface of the type of questions I had so you can imagine).

Selecting the right foundation for your skin type let alone your skin tone can be a mammoth task but thanks to the Internet and a couple of amazing vloggers I am learning  all I can about makeup and beauty.

Make up has evolved over the years, they are and insane number of foundation brands and formulas. They are foundations for oily skin, dry skin, combination and sensitive skin and if you are a first timer it’s so easy to pick the wrong one. Well don’t worry, I’ve got your back.

Sit back, relax. I’m about to give you the low-down on how to choose the RIGHT FOUNDATION for your skin type.

Liquid Foundation 

Beginners Guide to Liquid Foundation   

if you are going for a natural, ‘barely-there’ look a liquid foundation is the foundation for you.

They are oil-based liquid foundations for long lasting effect and they work well for people with normal to dry skin. If you have oily/sensitive skin I suggest you go for a water-based liquid foundation, as it wont clog or irritate your skin

CREAM/STICK FOUNDATIONS 

Beginners guide to cream foundation  

No more flaking, caking or feeling heavy. The right foundation goes a long way

Cream foundations are moisturizing to the skin and the mousse like textured eels like silk on your skin. Mousse, Cream or Stick foundations are great for dry skin or people who prefer a dewy look.

If you have dry or combination skin. These are the perfect foundations for your skin type

POWDER FOUNDATIONS 

beginners guide to Powder Foundations  

Powder foundations can be very drying, if you have oily skin I suggest you use a powder to touch up after applying your liquid foundation.

Powders are great for women who aren’t really into make up but want to get rid of the shine or women who are starting of!! They are easy to apply.

I hope this article was helpful and I hope I explained this well. If you want to know more about make up or if you have any questions. Feel free to comment below.

❤️ like the post and comment sharing your favorite foundations or asking any questions you might have

🔴 Follow the blog and join the NKB family for updates straight to your inbox

❤️ Share this post with your friends on your social media and help me help someone today. B

💋Miriam_NextKidOnTheBlock


4 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    This is one series I will be following eagerly Mirry. Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad ☺️☺️☺️☺️. Will keep on Sharing. Thank you for the support ☺️

      Like

  2. Irene says:

    Thumbs up hun…My skin is oily, I have acne scarring ne acne yacho,zvaka pressa! Would really do with advice on concealers,which colour to use and brand you would recommend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for following Irene. I’m glad I could help. Whilst I put together a post on all you asked for in detail. Orange concealers help with dark spots on your face. Choose a colour corrector from brands like Yardley.

      But remember it’s always best to treat your own skin. Make up can cause you more problems if you don’t take care of and heal your own skin. I also used to struggle with acne but my skin has cleared. Try reading my posts in treating acne you might find some products that work for you 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

