EXAMINATION SURVIVAL GUIDE + GIVE AWAY: study hacks to help you survive exam week because urg !!!!!!

Hello Loves,


In about a week is the bane of my existence,EXAMS. Exam time is  finally here, *Insert collective groan from entire student population* and I know I need all the help I can get to survive exams so in honor of exams coming up, here are a few tips to help you survive.

I’ve been writing exams for about 17 years now and I still don’t like them. Seriously, you would think I’d be used to them by now but I am really not. I am getting better at it though *sighs and rolls eyes*. Every semester before writing exams I always make a list of the things I need to have or do to maximize on the time I have to study and after doing all the research I could I really wanted to share so I could help someone else.

When it comes to studying, different things work for different people. Your learning style definitely comes into play – but other factors are important too. Whether you like short bursts of study time every day, or intense study sessions paired with days off? Or you prefer a strict study timetable or just picking up your books when you feel like it? What ever your studying preferences, here are some handy tips and tricks that work every time.

STUDY HACK 1: Mix it up

exam study tips ,
Different study styles work for me for my different subjects or topics so I tend to mix everything up. I am a visual learner so colour matters to me.

  • highlight your work
  • use mind maps , draw a mind map and stick it on your wall.
  • use flash cards and sticky notes to help you remember definitions, cases and equations
  • use sticky notes.

STUDY HACK 2: Understand you goals

Plan, plan, plan. Write down the scope of the exam for your different courses and plan what it is you need to know. Use your notes, course outlines and past papers to map out what you have to know and break it down.

STUDY HACK 3: Reward yourself and take breaks

I loooooovvvvee  coffee ( ice coffee is my drink of choice when I am busy, I don’t have to worry about it going cold, lol) and fruits. So when I am studying I make sure I have my snacks with me and I reward myself with a refill after finishing a chapter or topic, it motivates me.

Whatever your vice maybe, reward yourself after every chapter, topic or case.

Secondly, take a page from Meredith and Cristina (Greys Anatomy) and dance it out. If you feeling overwhelmed or tied, take a moment, play some music and twerk. If dancing is for you that;s alright, take a walk or take a power nap. I find it helpful to take a step back from it all so I don’t get overwhelmed.

STUDY HACK 4: Organize your study space and get comfortable. 

exam survival tips

I study in PJ’s and socks, even on a warm day as long as I am indoors I have to be in socks because my feet get cold. Do you, make sure you are comfortable and you have everything you need and want around you.

Organize your work space, keep the books and notes that you need to use for that particular subject.

STUDY HACK 5: Keep hydrated and Eat right!!

Do not underestimate the importance of food when you are studying, Food is your fuel. It can also be a great way to unwind after studying. Cook a delicious meal as a study break and use cooking and eating as a way to relax. It will help you focus, channel your energy and ultimately give you the fuel power you need to prepare for that exam. Try and keep it healthy or at least try adding some healthy food to your diet to help aid concentration and memory. (loads of fruit (apples, berries and bananas); nuts; and loads of vegetables too).

As a final tip, remember that being well hydrated is essential for your brain to work at its best. Make sure you keep drinking plenty of water throughout your revision, and also on the exam day.

Good luck!

I have a study care package for one lucky nextkidontheblock blog reader. You have 2 days to enter Give away winner will be announced on Wednesday at 1700hrs

Enter through the Rafflecopter widget by following the steps below:

examination care package  a Rafflecopter giveaway

🔴Follow the Blog and Comment below by sharing your No.1 study Tip

🔴Follow me on Social Media! The more platforms you choose to follow me on the greater your chances of winning

TWEETER
https://twitter.com/Miriamchipo7

FACEBOOK
https://www.facebook.com/nxtkidontheblock

INSTAGRAM
https://instagram.com/miriam_nextkidontheblock

🔴 Share on Facebook and tag a friend. The more you share the greater your chances of winning.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. laurendixonpaver says:

    I think my most important tip (for me, at least) is to just sit down and do it; I tend to get overwhelmed by my work very easily, and I find myself putting it off for a long time, so just sitting down an making a start makes it a lot easier to cope with. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Laurendixonpaver,

      True, sometimes you just have to push yourself because noone else will do it for you.
      Remember to take a step back, meditate, take a walk, exercise or whatever helps you relax when you start feeling overwhelmed. It helps me 🙂

      Thank you for following the blog 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. moniquesilver says:

    The most important tip for me is making studying more enjoyable (haha i know that sounds weird and like not even real). I like to watch youtube videos and draw weird drawings. It helps you remember things more easily, well that’s after i beat procrastination 🙂

    Like

    1. Moniquesilver

      Lol, procrastination, “the gift that keeps on giving” !!!! I totally get that, I use all kinds of colors, stickers and even glitters. Except for the content you’d think my notebook belongs to someone in primary school.

      Like

  3. lexkayphlex says:

    My tip would be to captivate your brain in as many ways as possible to ensure that you not only remember but actually learn what you are studying. What i usually do is use a lot of different colours for different topics i study for; i also try and illustrate my work through webs and diagrams; then i try say things out loud or teach my peers on a specific topic which will allow you to remember better, then lastly i think thank writing out notes over and over again summarizing each time also aids in studying. All the best 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. TKieBear says:

    Don’t study and eat! You end up more concerned about what next to shove in your mouth than actually doing your work!! Avoid sugery goodies and anything with salt- they actually increase your munchies!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. sinazo thomas says:

    I like to study listening to music..it helps me concentrate but not the sing-along type of music…more like deep house

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Stefsym says:

    Firstly, I loved reading this. (In my study break, actually.)

    When I study, I make sure I am in a quiet environment. I find that walking around while studying has been very beneficial. Sometimes when I get tired of sitting at a desk, i pick up one page of my study notes and walk up and down (a res corridor could work) while reading that page until I fully understand it. This gives you a break as well as keeping you studying, which is great because when you sit back down you feel refreshed. Works very well with Chinese. Hope this tip can help!

    Like

Leave a Reply

